LuvTL Beauty and Lifestyle Blog

“Beauty is not in the face; beauty is a light in the heart.” ― Kahlil Gibran

Lime Crime Matte Velvetine Review and Swatches

Leave a comment

Talk about confusing.

Just try looking up reviews on this brand and you’ll get anything from “it’s the most amazing lipstick ever” to “this brand is evil, and has to be stopped” (not an actual review BTW, I’m just summing up the overall opinions of the negative reviews).  One things for sure, this brand has reputation.  The question is, which reputation to believe.  I was undecided.

So when Lime Crime recently had a 75% off sale, I decided to take advantage and see what all the hype was about for myself.

Before I begin, let me say that I will not be getting into any of the accusations that were directed at this brand.  I haven’t done enough research to comfortably state whether the statements are true or just gossip.  However, the information is easily found on the internet and around the beauty community, in case you wanted to read and form an opinion of your own.

Price Tag

I purchased four lipsticks at $5 a piece and one at $13.  Regularly, these lipsticks sell for $20 for .088 oz.  However, I have noticed that Lime Crime does do a lot of sales.  Shipping to Canada is $10.75, which definitely made me less likely to buy again.

 

Ingredients and Basic Analysis

edited1.jpg

Isododecane,Cyclopentasiloxane,Trimethylsiloxysilicate,Kaolin,Dimethicone,Synthetic Beeswax,Silica Dimethyl Silylate,Hydrogenated Polyisobutene,Disteardimonium Hectorite,Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract,Tocopherol,Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Extract,Octyl Methoxycinnamate,Propylene Carbonate,Caprylyl Glycol,Ethylhexylglycerin,Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Extract,Flavor (Aroma),Triethoxycaprylylsilane,PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone. May Contain/Peut Contenir [+/-]: Red 7 (CI 15950),Red 28 Lake (CI 45410),Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090),Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891). CRUELTY-FREE & VEGAN

I do not have a background in science. What I do have is an app I rely on called “Code Check”.  You can download this app for free off Google Play.  I’m not affiliated with the app in anyway, I just find it really useful as the average consumer, when looking into ingredients.

In case you don’t have the app though, this is where I summarize its findings.

Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate filters and absorbs uv rays, hindering change in product quality.  Its also used to protect skinm or hair from harmful effects of the sun.  However, it has also been shown effects of hormonal imbalances in animals.

Hydrogenated Polyisobutene is an emollient that is used to soften and smooth the skin.  However waxes and oils with mineral oil, are suspected to cause cancer.

Caprylyl Glycol contains palm oil, which has ethical complications due to clear-cutting and massive destruction of rainforests.

Cyclopentasiloxane is also an emollient used to soften and smooth skin.  It has a possibility of effecting the hormonal system.  It also is not easily biodegradeable and has been shown to be a water pollutant.

 

First Impression

edited3.jpgWhen I first ordered, I chose: “Polly”, a medium-pink; “Scandal”, a dark-purple; and “Dream Girl” a dark-red.  After I ordered, a referral code was sent to me, stating that if a friend used it, they would get $5 off and I would receive $10 off my next order.

However, after a friend used the code, I went to purchase two more lipstick – “Teacup”, a pale blue; and “Saddle”, a reddish-brown – and discovered that despite the fact that my shopping cart accepted the code, the full amount was still charged to my card.  Since it was 11:59 am at night, I waited until the next morning and contacted Customer Service through their online chat.  I was informed that I could only use the code if I spent more than $30.  Since I didn’t want to spend another $30 plus $10.75 S&H, I asked them to cancel my order.  They told me the order was already processed so they couldn’t cancel it.  Great.  The girl was very polite and gave me the email to her supervisor for me to express my unhappiness.  The supervisor basically said it was their policy.  After looking into it, I discovered they did have a return policy, but you have to pay to have the product returned (FYI).

Average International Shipping time was estimated in 7-10, but due to the sale, they warned there may be a delay.  The first package arrived in 2 weeks.  The 2nd took approximately the same amount of time, but when it arrived, one of the colours was wrong.  I contacted customer service again and they sent out the correct shade right away and allowed me to keep the wrong shade.  This shade was “Thistle”, a dark-bluish-grey.

So now let me break down what I thought of the product:

The lipsticks come in a standard tube with a doe shaped applicator.  I found the formula to apply thinner and lighter compared to most other matte lipsticks that go on moussier, I had to change my application approach slightly.

The formula went on smoothly, but needed a little more care around the outline of the lips to prevent smearing and feathering.  Most of the colours seemed to go on opaque, but there were a couple of shades that streaked and needed to be built up.

It didn’t feel that dry on the lips, but as with a lot of other mattes, my lips winkled and dehydrated quite a bit.  If I applied, chapstick first, my lips wouldn’t wrinkle as much, but you sacrifice longevity for moisture.

I found that even without chapstick, the formula started to flake off after two hours.  This is not a judgement on the lipstick though, because I haven’t found a liquid lipstick yet that lasts longer than four hours.  Maybe its just me.

I liked all the colours, but “Thistle”.  I also doubt very much that I will ever successfully rock “Teacup” – but I knew that colour would be difficult to pull off when I bought it.

GROUP.jpg

 

Lasting Impression

Overall, I liked the quality and wearability of the product, but the regular cost plus shipping, and my experience with ordering has kind of jaded me to the brand – that’s not to say everybody would have this problem.  If you live in the U.S., shipping would be about half the cost.  Also, as a Canadian the price tag is higher.

I will say that my friend is extremely happy with the two colours she purchased – “Raven”, a very dark purplish-red; and “Black Velvet”.  I had the chance to apply both these colours and they were really streaky, but after building them up they looked great.

I guess this review sums up all the other reviews out there.  It has some good and bad aspects to it.  I, personally would be unlikely to buy it again, but I would recommend it to anyone who is comfortable with the cost.

 

Leave a Reply

