LuvTL Beauty and Lifestyle Blog

“Beauty is not in the face; beauty is a light in the heart.” ― Kahlil Gibran

Le Petite Marseilles Extra Gentle Body Shower Gel Review

Leave a comment

I got to try out this body gel free thanks to Le Petite Marseilles and The Chickadvisor, but my review of this product is honest and of my own opinion.

Price Tag

This product sells at various stores.  At Walmart Canada, it sells for $4.97 for 400ml of shower gel – a pretty fair amount for your money.

 

Ingredients and Simple Analysis

I do not have a background in science. What I do have is an app I rely on called “Code Checker”.  You can download this app for free.  I’m not affiliated with the app in anyway, I just find it really useful when looking into ingredients.  

In case you don’t have the app though, this is where I summarize its findings. 

CL 19140 and Tartrazine appear to be the same.  They are colourants that are used in many cosmetics and bath products but they are considered to be carcinogenic.

Again Ammonium Lauryl Sulfate is seen on quite a few ingredient lists.  Its a cleansing agent and helps products create foam.  It can be an irritant.

Polyquaternium-7 contains microbeads, which have been shown to be a pollutant and bad for the environment.

 

First Impressions

20170612_141046_HDRWhen it arrived, I was sitting outside enjoying some sun.  I opened the box, grabbed the container and took a whiff.  The scent was suppose to be White Peach and Nectarine, and I definitely could recognize the smell.  It had a sweet, juicy smell.

The nectar smell was strong enough to attract a nearby wasp, and I ended up running into the house, while flailing my arms and trying to protect my bodywash.

Later, when I took a shower, I was pretty disappointed that the smell was so mild.  I like a body wash that has a fragrance that stays on your skin, and it was easy to tell that this soap wouldn’t be like that.  I did really like how little product was needed to get a good lather.  It was very light and after rinsing, I didn’t notice any soapy residue.  Also, I didn’t notice any over drying from my shower.

 

Verdict

It’s an okay product that you would get from your average drugstore.  I didn’t think there was anything really special about it or anything that made it stand out from your basic body wash.  The brand name makes it sound a lot more fancy then it actually is.   The lather is the best part but the use of micro beads turns me off because of its contribution to water pollution.  Overall, I would give this product a meh.  I probably wouldn’t go out of my way to recommend this to anyone, but I did like the way it felt on the skin in the shower.

 

Has anyone else tried this product?  If so, what did you think?

 

Leave a Reply

