LuvTL Beauty and Lifestyle Blog

“Beauty is not in the face; beauty is a light in the heart.” ― Kahlil Gibran

Switching the Swatches for Summer

Leave a comment

If you are anything like me, you have experienced the joy of trying to get your foundation to stay on during the summer months.  You do your best to mattify and powder, but either the makeup seperates right away on the skin and ends up looking pastey and greasy, or you get to watch it slowly melt and run down your face as the sun gets higher in the sky.

As spring turns to summer and our clothing layers get lighter, so should our makeup too.  Last year, a new makeup technique was showcased by Marie Claire, called Non-touring.  Non-touring is the child of Contouring and Strobing.  It was created as a way to define your bone structure with a minimum amount of make up, basically keeping your face looking as fresh as possible during those hot, sweaty, summer days.  The point is to leave out the foundation, bronzer and contour palette and opt instead for an illuminating primer, tinted moisturizer, and highlighter.

I recently got my first sunburn of the year, and I thought this might be a good time to try non-touring for myself and share my experience for anyone who might want to try it.

Let’s Get Started:

I’m not recommending any specific brands for this make up tutorial.  I just want to give you an idea of how I did it and what I used, so you can use it as a starting point for your look.

touring0

First, I applied my “Bioderma Sébium Mat Control” moisturizer and allowed it to absorb.

Now, most tutorials will recommend using an illuminating primer, but I didn’t have one, so I improvised by combining a bit of my “Hard Candy” pearl highlighter with my “Mineral Infused Face Primer by Elf”. I felt it worked really well.

touring3.jpg

Next, I was suppose to apply a tinted moisturizer – which I also didn’t have – so I added a bit of foundation with my Dermaglow face cream.

At this point, I could honestly say I was happy without adding anything else on my face.

wp-image-1804198330.jpg

But, lets continue.

Apply concealer to blemishes, dark undereyes and anywhere else you usually add it – and blend in.

touring5

Then, I dabbed on the same highlighter I used in the primer to my cheekbones, down the bridge of my nose, to my cupid’s bow, and along the edge of my hairline on the top of my forehead.  I used a light pink blush to the apples of my cheeks.

I used the pinky-blush illuminator from my “Hard Candy Highlighter” pallette as a crease eyeshadow, added a rosey eyeliner, some mascara, a light lipstick and – TA DA! – I got myself a fresh, dewy look for the summer.

Next time, I think I’ll leave off the highlighter under my nose, and maybe leave off the illuminating primer on my chin (it tends to highlight the acne I’m trying to hide 😉).

Would love to hear your opinions on this technique.  If you tried it out last summer, please let me know how you thought it held up.

Let me know what your favourite face sculpting technique is: Contouring, Highlighting, Strobing, or Non-touring?

Leave a Reply

