LuvTL Beauty and Lifestyle Blog

“Beauty is not in the face; beauty is a light in the heart.” ― Kahlil Gibran

Let’s Give Threading a Try

Leave a comment

In the last month, I’ve taken more selfies than I have in my whole entire life.  As comfortable as a person is – or as little as they care about their appearance – seeing yourself up close in photos can seriously wear on your confidence.

The latest annoyance is the peach fuzz in my pictures.   Everyone has those very fine hairs across their face.  In daily life its not an issue for me and other people really shouldn’t worry about it, but in photo close ups these hairs are crazy evident.  When I’m trying to show how a lipstick shade looks, I don’t want you distracted, thinking, “that’s a lot of hair around her lips”.

I didn’t feel like going out to get facial wax, but I did have a spool of thread.  I figured this would be a great opportunity to try a hair removal technique called Threading.

In case you don’t know what Threading is – and there is a lot of people who still don’t – it’s exactly what it sounds like.  You are using a piece of thread, handled in a certain way, that basically pulls the hairs out of your skin.  It’s a pretty old practice of hair removal, and it’s known to:

  • remove finer hairs
  • be less painful than waxing
  • have less redness and swelling
  • cost less then other hair removal options

Also, hair can take longer to grow back and grow back finer.

Obviously, a professional is going to be much quicker and more effective than I would be  by doing this at home, but what the heck?  Let’s give it a try.


How to tweeze eyebrows with precision. How the models do it and any makeup artist.:

Taken From: http://bellashoot.com/p/10318


 

This is something that needs a bit of practice to master.   Getting the fingers working right and being able to maneuver the string in the right direction around the curves of the face requires some finesse.  I was constantly trying to figure out how to move my fingers without having the thread slip off.

Doing it around the eyebrows was very scary because I was worried I was going to catch a chunk of hair by accident.  Threading is really popular for brow clean up because it can create straight, smooth lines.  I found that using a shorter loop made it easier to direct the thread.

After I was finished, my fingers hurt where the thread had slid back and forth across the skin.  If I had been quicker and more accurate at threading, I’m sure this wouldn’t have happened, but since it took me like 20 minutes, my fingers were pretty sore.

I had a bit of redness, but it faded quick so I’m okay with that.  Overall, I think it was less painful then tweezing, but it still hurt a bit.  The major test was whether I could see the difference in the photos.

Below is the before and after of my cheek.  I think it was a pretty successful first time.  My face definitely feels smoother, and I’ve noticed that makeup looks nicer, and all it took was a piece of thread and a little patience.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

*Featured Image take from: https://intothegloss.com

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

