LuvTL Beauty and Lifestyle Blog

“Beauty is not in the face; beauty is a light in the heart.” ― Kahlil Gibran

Vasanti’s Tinseltown Eye Colour Palette

Leave a comment

paletteb

So, I finally got around to snagging a palette from Rexall pharmacy, a couple of weeks back.  I’ve seen this line around, but hadn’t gotten a chance to try it out.  As soon as I sampled the 2nd Shade – which is named only as “Nude Brown Sparkle” – I wanted to know what it looked like on.  The really frustrating thing is that the company has decided to move on, which means you can only find this palette on Amazon for a limited time.

Brand: Vasanti
Product: Tinseltown Eye Shadow Palette
Avg Cost: CA $30.45
Size: .39 oz
Where To Buy: Amazon Well.ca
Ingredients: SHADES – BRONZER, RICH GREEN SPARKLE, NUDE BROWN SPARKLE:  Talc, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Octyldodecyl Stearate, Zinc Stearate, Boron Nitride, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Sorbic Acid. MAY CONTAIN: Mica, Iron Oxides, Titanium Dioxide, Bismuth Oxychloride, Carmine, Chromium Oxide Green, Chromium Hydroxide Green, Ferric Ferrocyanide, Manganese Violet, Ultramarines, Tin Oxide.

SHADE – PURPLE BLUE SPARKLE: Talc, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Octyldodecyl Stearate, Zinc Stearate, Phenoxyethanol, Silica, Caprylyl Glycol, Sorbic Acid. MAY CONTAIN: Mica, Iron Oxides, Titanium Dioxide, Bismuth Oxychloride, Carmine, Chromium Oxide Green, Chromium Hydroxide Green, Ferric Ferrocyanide, Manganese Violet, Ultramarines, Tin Oxide.

SHADE – DARK BROWN SPARKLE:  Talc, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Boron Nitride, Zinc Stearate, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Silica, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Sorbic Acid. MAY CONTAIN: Mica, Iron Oxides, Titanium Dioxide, Bismuth Oxychloride, Carmine, Chromium Oxide Green, Chromium Hydroxide Green, Ferric Ferrocyanide, Manganese Violet, Ultramarines, Tin Oxide.

Claim to Fame: “Tinseltown aka Hollywood inspired this palette of eye popping, sparkling shades. They have incomparable staying power, are crease resistant, blend easily and are loaded with intense pigments – Truly award worthy!” – from the Well.ca website

First Impressions:

The first shade I sampled, I loved.  It was a creamy, highly pigmented champagne shade.  The rest of the shades felt completely different and much more chalky on the skin.  Honestly, I was pretty disappointed by how dry the other shadows felt, and there was larger sparkles in the blend that just didn’t do it for me, but the one shadow colour had won me over, so I figured I’d try to create a few looks and see what these shadows could do.

img_20170418_191007-e1493618128834And I found it pretty difficult.  Firstly, green is not the best colour for blue eyes, and like I said the shadows were dry and went on chalky.  They had very little slip and blending it out was extremely difficult to do without creating bare patches on my lid.  An eyeshadow base was really important to use just to stop some of the fallout and bring out the colour.

greenandgoldbGet the Look

vasantigreenandgoldb.jpg

Lasting Impression:

This is a Canadian brand, so it hurts me a little to say anything negative about it, but I want to be honest and fair in my reviews.  I may give this brand another try, but it would probably be for their skin care line, which I hear is wonderful.  This eye shadow palette really bummed me out though.

Like I said, I loved the shimmery champagne shadow.  It went on so nice and looked so beautiful, but the rest of the colours got a failing grade.  I really hope their future shadows have a much better formula.

Until then, I don’t think I’ll be buying their shadows again.

 

 

Brand Wishlist:

Brighten Up! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator

Brighten Up! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator $34

 

Monoi Magic - Monoi de Tahiti Treatment Oil for Face, Body & Hair

Monoi Magic – Monoi de Tahiti Treatment Oil for Face, Body & Hair $15

Age is Only a Number Elixir

Age is Only a Number Elixir $62

Leave a Reply

