LuvTL Beauty and Lifestyle Blog

“Beauty is not in the face; beauty is a light in the heart.” ― Kahlil Gibran

L.A. Girl Review

Leave a comment

lagirlb.jpg

Brand: L.A. Girl
Product: Acid Palette
Avg Cost: US $6
Size: .32 g
Where To Buy: L.A. Girl USA Amazon Ulta Beauty Bay
Ingredients: Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Polybutene, Diisostearyl Malate, Ethylhexyl, Palmitate, BIS-Diglyceryl, Polyacyladipate-2, Ethylene/Propylene/Styrene Copolymer, Glyceryl Behenate/ Eicosadioate, Ricinus Communis Seed Oil/ Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Butylene /Ethylene/Styrene Copolymer, Dextrin Palmitate, Mica, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Caprylyl Glycol, 1,2-Hexanediol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Aroma (Flavor), Rosmarinus Officinalis Leaf Extract/ Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary)Leaf Extract, Helianthus Annuus Seed Oil/ Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Ethyhexyl Salicylate, Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane, Silica, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-di-bu-tyl-Hyroxyhydrocinnamate, Tropolone, Talc, Tin Oxide, BHT. [+/- (May Contain): Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (77491, CI 77492, CI 77492, CI 77499), Yellow 5 (CI 19140), Red 6 (CI 15850), Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Red 28 Lake (CI 45410), Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Carmine (CI 75470)].
Claim to Fame: Blurring the lines between lipstick and lip gloss, Matte Pigment Gloss has become a favorite of makeup artists, bloggers and fans. Available in 16 bold shades that provide rich and intense color in a flat finish for all day wear. The long wearing formula goes on as a highly pigmented liquid and dries to a flat matte finish, for a gorgeous velvety perfection that last and lasts.
*taken from LA Girl website

First Impression:

I hadn’t heard of this brand before buying, and to tell you the truth, I bought this lipstick because I liked the packaging and the price was cheap.  Unfortunately, this is one of those cases of you get what you pay for.

This product is advertised as a cross between a matte lipstick and a gloss, but it fails to be either.  I will say that I like the colours the product offers – they’re very appealing.   However, I didn’t like a whole lot else about it.   The smell was very waxy and the texture was thick, but when I applied it, it was very streaky and patchy.  Since the formula didn’t apply evenly across the lips, I found it hard to keep a neat edge along the lip line.

The formula is very dry and feels like I’ve coated my lips in crayon.  It was probably about an hour when I started to notice it fading, but that could be because I was licking my dry lips so much.

I actually think that the way the product goes on is similar to a QuiBest lipstick I got from Aliexpress for CA$1.59.  I decided to try both formulas on at the same time to see which one was better:

lagirl3coatb

After 3 coats

lagirl5coatb

After 5 coats

*Top Lip is QuiBest and Bottom Lip is L.A.Girl U.S.A.

Lasting Impression:

I think its pretty easy to tell that I did not like this lipstick.  It could be that this colour is a bad one out of the bunch, because I noticed there was quite a bit of positive reviews for this brand.  Yes, I would be willing to give the product a try again, but in my opinion, its not even worth the CA$9 I spent on it from the Amazon website.

BRAND WISHLIST: NA

Leave a Reply

