LuvTL Beauty and Lifestyle Blog

“Beauty is not in the face; beauty is a light in the heart.” ― Kahlil Gibran

Jeffree Star Velour Liquid Lipstick

Leave a comment

I got the lipsticks from my niece, who had originally purchased the two colours to try and mix them to create a dark purple shade to match her favourite eyeshadow look.  She has since moved on from the purple and into a desire to find a good grey colour – so I get to now try out the Jeffree Star brand.

Brand: Jeffree Star Cosmetics
Product: Velour Liquid Lipstick
Parent Company: Jeffree Star Cosmetics
Avg Cost: US $18
Size: .19 oz
Where To Buy: Sephora Jeffree Star Cosmetics
Ingredients: Isododecane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Kaolin, Synthetic Beeswax, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Tocopheryl Acetate, Hydrogen Dimethicone, Propylene Carbonate, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol. May Contain (+/-) Titanium Dioxide (Cl 77891), Red 7 Lake (Cl 15850:1), Red 30 Lake (Cl 73360), Yellow 5 Lake (Cl 19140), Blue 1 Lake (Cl 42090), Red 28 Lake (Cl 45410)
Claim to Fame: Our liquid lipstick goes on opaque, dries completely matte and stays on for hours! This product is 100% vegan & cruelty-free! (tips before use: exfoliate then apply to bare lips! Avoid food with oil… and no making out, kisses are ok!)
*taken from the Jeffree Star Cosmetics website

jsb

First Impression:

lipswatchbThe two colours that I got to sample were “Weirdo” and “I’m Royalty.”  “Weirdo” is a blackest black, while “I’m Royalty” is a bright purple.  Both lipsticks are shades that require a touch of delicacy when applying, and that’s not a brand issue, but just a general rule of thumb when applying colours like this.  I think both colours are very beautiful, but neither one is something I would think I could pull off.  I don’t usually wear shades this vivacious.  The smell of the lipsticks is slightly waxy.  It’s kind of reminiscent of a crayon – but again, a lot of mattes have this smell because they require more waxes in the ingredients – however, the smell is not too overpowering.

The liquid is thinner and it applies very nice and very opaque across the lips.  I didn’t notice any streaking.  The doe applicator is very flexible, which is helpful when spreading the liquid across the lips, but it makes it a little more tricky around the lip line.  It dries down a little bit on the slow side, but once it dries down it doesn’t smear or transfer.

I did have to apply a second coat after the first dried down because as soon as I smiled the lipstick cracked and opened up around the creases in my lip.  After the second coat, it was fine though.

The coverage lasted for approximately 4 hours before I started to notice any fading, and reapplication went on smooth, without any flaking or clumping.

Overall, I found the product very comfortable to wear.

Lasting Impression:

I like the comfort and the wear.  The price is average for the quality of the product the brand puts out.

I’m not to sure I will be buying any of the Jeffree Star line personally, because of evidence that I’ve seen online of Jeffree Star making intolerant remarks and attacking other individuals, but that’s my personal choice and it’s not based on the product itself.   I’m not going to get into this history, because I think there has been more than enough documentation put out online for anyone who wants to read up on it.  If you are like me, and at least try to make ethical makeup purchases, you may want to look into and decide for yourself if you feel comfortable buying this line.

Brand Wishlist: N/A

 

Leave a Reply

