LuvTL Beauty and Lifestyle Blog

“Beauty is not in the face; beauty is a light in the heart.” ― Kahlil Gibran

Coloured Raine Matte Lip Paint Review

Leave a comment

My first purchase of these liquid lipsticks are two colours that were not only opposite of each other, but completely opposite of what I usually wear: “Oooh La La” and “Marshmallow”.

Brand: Coloured Raine
Product: Matte Lip Paint
Parent Company: Coloured Raine
Avg Cost: US $17.99
Size: .3 oz
Where To Buy: Coloured Raine
Ingredients: Isododecane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Aluminum Oxide, Kaolin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone, Polybutene, Silica Silylate, Synthetic Beeswax, Phenoxyethanol , C18-36 Acid Triglyceride, Propylene Carbonate, Caprylyl Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Tocopheryl Acetate.
May Contain: +/- D&C Red No.28 Aluminum Lake (CI 45410), Titanium dioxide (CI 77891), FD&C Yellow No 5 Lake (CI 19140), Red 6 Lake (CI 15850), Iron Oxides (CI 77499, CI 77491, CI 77492), FD&C Blue No.1 Aluminum Lake (CI 42090)
Claim to Fame: Coloured Raine’s cruelty-free cosmetics line was founded to encourage self-expression and diversity. With long-lasting lip formulas in an array of unparalleled hues, Coloured Raine is renowned as the most beautiful and exotic makeup in the world.
*taken from Coloured Raine website

First Impression:

I find this product as a slight chemical scent, but nothing that would turn you off using it.  The formula is thicker and a bit more mousse than other liquid lipsticks.

It applies very smoothly across the lips and dries down matte very quickly.  Once its completely dry, it doesn’t seem to rub off until you remove it with an oil based product.  I think that they both wear fairly comfortable and don’t feel overly dry on the lips.  I was happy that after four hours, the colour was still staying on.  It had faded only slightly on the inner parts of the lip.

As for the colours….

ooh la la bOooh La La is much more on the pink side then I thought from the picture I saw on Coloured Raine.  It’s a very bright fuchsia shade.  I think people will either love it or hate it.  I’m not usually a fan of pinks, but there was something about this shade that drew me to it.   This is definitely a “statement” lipstick.  It’s very dramatic, and people will take notice.  For me, I think I would have to keep my eyes very simple and use this colour as the main focal point of my make up look.

I did notice that this shade feathers a bit.  I made sure I purchased a lip liner to wear with it.  Also, until it dries, the bright fuchsia shade rubs off on the front of the teeth – so check your teeth before leaving the house.

 

marshmallowb

\Marshmallow was a much more muted shade.  I would describe it as a greyis
h taupe.   I’ve wanted to add a grey tone to my lipsticks, but because my complexion is so white, I find most greys look more Gothic than Vintage on me.  The tint of purplish-brown suits my skin better than most grey shades I’ve tried on.  I’m probably going to be wearing this colour quite a bit.

Lasting Impression:

Living in a small town in Canada, our beauty product brands are pretty limited.  If you want something a little more daring, you have to brave the enormity of the internet.   I’m very happy when I find a brand that has amazing colours with amazing quality.  I’ve recommended this company to many friends and people who are looking for a little more variety.  I’ve also had a chance to try their eye shadows and I was really impressed by those as well.  I have a huge wishlist and will definitely be adding to my Coloured Raine collection in the future.

Brand Wishlist: Untitled-3

Untitled-2

*pictures taken from Coloured Raine website.

 

Leave a Reply

