LuvTL Beauty and Lifestyle Blog

“Beauty is not in the face; beauty is a light in the heart.” ― Kahlil Gibran

Double Wear Stay in Place Makeup – Is it really worth it?

Leave a comment

estfoun

Brand: Estee Lauder
Product: Double Wear Stay in Place Makeup
Parent Company: Estee Lauder
Avg Cost: CA $46.00
Size: 30ml
Where To Buy: Sephora Sears The Bay
Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Tribehenin, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Magnesium Sulfate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Methicone, Laureth-7, Xanthan Gum, Alumina, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cellulose Gum, Propylene Carbonate, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Phenoxyethanol. May Contain: Iron Oxides, Mica, Titanium Dioxide
Claim to Fame: Proven 24-hour staying power.  The same long-wear makeup you love, now proven to last even longer. Looks flawless and natural.  Feels lightweight and so comfortable, you won’t believe it’s super long wear. Won’t change color, smudge or come off on clothes. Lasts through heat and humidity.
*taken from Estee Lauder website

Untitled-1

First Response:

With age comes experience – also; creases, lines, wrinkles, wider pores, acne scars, sun spots, saggy skin and oh so many other blessings.  Not to mention, I still get to experience the joys of puberty in the form of adult acne.

My skin is the definition of “combination”.  It’s a pale-fair with rosy cheeks.  My pores look huge to me.  I have a few smile creases, and the skin around my eyes isn’t as taught as it once was.  My T-Zone has a tendency to break out on a regular basis (which is super fun!)

The foundations I owned looked like they were melting off my skin and exaggerating the flaws I was trying to hide.  I couldn’t just walk into a drugstore and pick one off the shelf because it had interesting packaging or trendy slogans.  It came to the point where I needed to really research what foundation I was going to use.

That’s when I decided on Estee Lauder’s Double Wear Foundation.

This foundation is a beloved staple of the beauty consumers.  Seriously, if you haven’t noticed, there are so many reviews and Top 5’s that talk about this product.  I had never spent that much money on a foundation – which is ridiculous because if you are going to be spending big bucks on any makeup product, it should be your foundation.   Since there is so many positive reviews out there, I decided to take a shot.

I was glad to have a beauty consultant help me match my shade.   Sephora used an electronic gadget.  However, I also went to check out the prices at The Bay – because Estee Lauder was being promoted there and I was going to get a free 7-piece kit for the same cost at Sephora – and the consultant said the color they gave me was way too dark and suggested a lighter one.

The consistency was a lot thinner than I was use to with other foundations, and my first thought was that the coverage would be light – despite what was advertised – but I was blown away by how well it hid the blemishes.  There is very little smell, which I definitely appreciate because there is nothing worse than applying makeup that has a strong chemical smell to your face.

When I spread it across my cheek it went on very even with the foundation brush.   I did not need much to cover my whole face, including the problem areas.

Initially, it looked really caked on with just a small amount used, and it was very easy to see brush streaks, but after I applied my foundation with the brush, I went over my coverage with a foundation sponge to blend it out.  As the foundation dried down, it looked much more natural.

Here is a before and after.  I haven’t touched up any photos, I’m in very yellow lighting, and I’m just using the camera on a Moto G phone.  Also, I haven’t used any concealer or primer because I wanted to give you an accurate representation of the coverage:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Lasting Impression:

This foundation definitely earns its positive reviews.  I absolutely love the coverage and finish.  However, if you have young, relatively decent looking skin, opt for something lighter in coverage – and take it from someone who has experience:

The best way to make your skin look flawless is to develop a skin routine that is specific to your skin type.  If you take care of your skin and keep it healthy, your foundation will go on so much better.

 

 

Leave a Reply

