LuvTL Beauty and Lifestyle Blog

“Beauty is not in the face; beauty is a light in the heart.” ― Kahlil Gibran

Lip Plump by Creation Garden

Leave a comment

lip plump

Brand: Creation Garden
Product: Lip Plump
Parent Company: n/a
Avg Cost: US $19.99
Size: .35 fl oz
Where To Buy: Rexall Drugstore
Creations Garden website: lip plump
Ingredients: Hyaluronic Acid, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Ethylene/Propylene/Styrene Copolymer, Butylene/Ethylene/ Styrene Copolymer, Isododecane, Menthol, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil Certified Organic, Benzyl Nicotinate, Macadamia Temifoli (Macadamia) Seed Oil, Tocopheryl (Vitamin E) Acetate, Camphor, Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Oil
Claim to Fame: “Plump up your lips with all natural ingredients and essential oils. Use our Lip Plumper alone for naturally kissable lips or over your favorite color for increased shine and enhanced color. Our lip plumper is hydrating, non-drying non-sticky, containing 100% natural and organic ingredients for the ultimate plumping and moisturizing experience. *Hydrating” *taken from the Creations Garden website

spearmint_plant

First Response:

I purchased this product because my lips were looking old and dehydrated.  I guess, it’s another great symptom of age – what were once supple and soft, are now shriveled, pale and wrinkled (emoticon = sad face and then winky face – yes, I’m just teasing).

If you can, there are steps that you should take to keep your lips looking at their best.  I didn’t do any of those steps and just wanted the quick fix.   So I decided to buy Creation’s Garden Lip Plump, an all natural, clear gloss that uses spearmint and other oils to plump up your lips.

I decided to first exfoliate my lips with my toothbrush – which is what I should have been doing on a regular basis anyways.  As soon as I pulled the applicator out of the tube, I noticed the strong spearmint smell.  Just breathing in the scent will leave that menthol feeling up your nose.  The gloss doesn’t feel too sticky on your lips and it applies smoothly across the skin.

Now here’s when it gets interesting.

It only took a couple of seconds to feel a tingling sensation across my lips.  A couple of seconds more and I could barely handle it.  It felt so peppery on the lips that I had to wipe it off after only a minute.

Exfoliating my lips before hand was not a good idea.  DON’T EXFOLIATE RIGHT BEFORE USING!  Just a head’s up.

So, first time was a little more than I could handle.

Lasting Impression:

I’ve used this product since, but it definitely has to be on healthy lips.  If your lips are rough or damaged, it’s a pretty painful experience.  When using this product, start with a small amount towards the inside of your lips and spread it outwards.

It might be a good idea to put a chap stick on the first time and then apply the lip plumper.  Gradually, you can increase the amount until you find the right ratio for your lips.  I say this because this product was designed to use natural oils which encourage swelling in the lips, thus reducing surface wrinkles.  If you apply too much and your lips aren’t prepared for it, then the swelling ends up making you look like you had an allergic reaction.

I do continue to use this product.  Usually, I’ll let it sit on my lips, then gently dab off the excess with a paper towel.  Then I hydrate my lips with chap stick.  I also have to make sure to dab off any excess chap stick before applying my matte lipstick.

 Brand Wishlist:

Leave a Reply

