LuvTL Beauty and Lifestyle Blog

“Beauty is not in the face; beauty is a light in the heart.” ― Kahlil Gibran

Carbolic Soap – the stinky secret

Leave a comment

Have you heard of this?  I hadn’t.

A product that has been on the market since 1894!  Yet, with all the products on the market, this soap has been forgotten and not many people know of how amazing it is.

Of course, maybe a lot of people have blocked it from their memories.  Have you ever heard the saying, “Wash your mouth out with soap” – well….this was the soap.   Back in the day, Carbolic Soaimagesp was used for everything from the automobile industry to hospital disinfectant.  People used it as a general cleaning agent, laundry detergent, deodorant, and/or antibacterial soap.  Today, some countries and disaster relief organizations still use it for its antiseptic properties.

This solid, orange bar is derived from either coal tar or petroleum sources (I know, it sounds nasty right?).  It has a strong, salve smell, which reminds of this old, rusty tin of greasy ointment that my father had inherited from his grandmother.

Originally, it was sold by a company called Lifebuoy, but overtime there have been many brands that made the product.  I found it at my local bulk store and there was not even a brand label on it.

So why am I letting you know about Carbolic Soap?

Among it’s many uses, Carbolic soap fights Acne!

After three months battling a bad bout of adult acne across my chin – the worst breakout I have ever had – I stumbled on this soap, and after using it for a week I was able to clear my face almost completely.

And it only cost me $1.99.

So, if you’ve tried everything and just can’t get your skin clear OR if you can’t spend the money on high-end beauty products, then maybe you should find yourself some Carbolic Soap, and see if it works for you as well as it worked for me.

*I, personally, have very sensitive skin and use it daily now, but Carbolic Soap can be a skin irritant for some people, and you should start by using it without any other products that may dry or irritate the skin.

Leave a Reply

